Skip to content

The Coalition

Our partners come from research institutes, intergovernmental organisations, investors, infrastructure providers, strategic advisory companies, NGOs and city networks across five continents.

Coalition Members

The members collaborate to fill key knowledge gaps facing national governments looking to help drive progress towards sustainable cities. The members have a steering group made up of work stream leads which meets regularly to test and share ideas and to provide strategic direction and governance for the global and country programme.

Members include:

  • World Resources Institute (WRI)
  • C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group
  • Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI)
  • International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED)
  • The Centre for Climate Change Economics and Policy at the University of Leeds, UK
  • LSE Cities, at the London School of Economics and Political Science, UK
  • Tsinghua University, China
  • African Centre for Cities, South Africa
  • PwC
  • Siemens
  • Overseas Development Institute (ODI)
  • Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations (ICRIER), India
  • McKinsey & Company
  • Organisation for Economic Development and Cooperation (OECD)
  • Urban Land Institute (ULI)
  • Climate Policy Initiative (CPI)
  • Policy Studies Institute (PSI), Ethiopia
  • Economic Policy Research Centre, Uganda
  • DWS
  • Global Green Growth Institute (GGGI)

Urban Leadership Council

The Council brings together prominent urban, Sustainable Development Goal, and climate-focused institutions helps to help steer and champion the Coalition’s work. It is a network of networks, with members having their own well-established leadership groups consisting of mayors of major cities, former heads of state and finance ministers, business leaders, heads of major international organisations, prominent thought leaders, academics and economists as well as civil society. The Council is co-chaired by Andrew Steer, President and CEO of the World Resources Institute and Mark Watts, Executive Director of C40.

Council members include:

  • Amanda Eichel, Executive Director – Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy
  • Andrew Higham, Chief Executive – Mission 2020
  • Andrew Steer, President and CEO – World Resources Institute (Co-Chair)
  • Dominic Waughray, Managing Director, Head of the Centre for Global Public Goods – World Economic Forum (WEF)
  • Emilia Sáiz, Secretary General – United Cities and Local Government (UCLG)
  • Gino van Begin, Secretary-General: ICLEI
  • Guido Schmidt-Traub, Executive Director – UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN)
  • Helen Clarkson, Chief Executive Officer – The Climate Group
  • Helen Mountford, Vice President, Climate & Economics – WRI and Programme Director – New Climate Economy / Global Commission on the Economy and Climate
  • Jeremy Oppenheim, Programme Director – Energy Transitions Commission / Founder and Managing Partner – SystemIQ
  • Mark Watts, Executive Director – C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (Co-Chair)
  • Nigel Topping, Chief Executive Officer – We Mean Business
  • Richard Baron, Executive Director – 2050 Pathways Platform
  • Sheela Patel, Chair – Slum Dwellers International (SDI)
  • Tasneem Essop, Executive Director – Climate Action Network International (CAN)
  • William Cobbett, Director – Cities Alliance